Skip to main content
Resort Comparisons

Europe vs USA: Which Is Actually Cheaper for a Family Ski Trip?

The founding claim of this site, tested against real published prices. Europe wins almost every line item once you land. The USA wins the flight. Here is the like-for-like week, with every number season-labeled and every gap in our data marked as a gap.

Snowthere

Geprüft von Tom Meredith

11. Juli 2026
Dieser Ratgeber ist derzeit auf Englisch verfügbar. Wir arbeiten an der deutschen Version!

Here is the claim this whole site was built on: for a lot of American families, a week in the Alps costs less than a week at a major US destination resort. Not "less if you go in April." Less on the like-for-like week, in the school holidays, with two kids in ski school.

Real talk: that claim is only half true, and the honest version is far more useful than the viral version. Europe wins almost every line item once you are there. Lift passes, kids' lessons, childcare, lunch, lodging: cheaper, often by a lot, occasionally by a factor of four. The USA wins one line item, and it is big enough to swallow the entire difference for some families. The flight.

So the real question is not "is Europe cheaper." It is: does the on-the-ground saving beat four transatlantic tickets, for your family, in your week, from your airport? This guide gives you the numbers to answer that yourself. Every price is labeled with its season and its source. Where we could not verify something, we say so instead of filling the hole with a confident guess.

⚠️ READ THE LABELS BEFORE YOU TRUST THE NUMBERS

Two different kinds of number appear below. The European prices come from our own resort research: mostly lift companies' and ski schools' own published tariffs, checked and season-labeled. The US prices come from a research pass done on 1 August 2026, and several US categories had no publishable source at all.

Where a US number is an estimate, we say so in the same sentence. Where we could not verify something, the cell says so plainly instead of carrying a number we made up. Vail Resorts had not published its 2026-27 window and walk-up ticket tables when we did this work, so the US day-ticket figures below are 2025-26 season data. Historically those rise, so treat them as a floor for 2026-27, not as this season's price.

The like-for-like week: family of four, six ski days

What you are buyingEurope (our verified resort data)USA (2025-26 and 2026-27 research anchors)
6-day lift pass, 2 adults€798 in the Zillertal: €399 per adult for the 6-day Zillertaler Superskipass, covering 546 km and 180 lifts across four ski areas plus the valley ski bus (2026/27, 4 Dec 2026 to 11 Apr 2027). Cheaper elsewhere, with a catch: Montgenèvre's €217 adult 6-day is the off-season rate covering the Montgenèvre domain only, and off-season means before 18 December 2026 or after 10 to 12 April 2027, so no school holiday week falls inside it. In the peak window you pay €301, and that price buys the larger Montgenèvre plus Monts de la Lune area (winter 2026-2027). Turracher Höhe €336 to €363 depending on season band (2025/26). Pricier: Ischgl €451 (2026/27), La Rosière €295 (winter 2025-2026).Not sold as a 6-day product in the same way. Breckenridge's sampled online adult rate was $234 weekday and $281 weekend (22 Dec sample date, 2025-26, OnTheSnow), so six adult days runs roughly $1,400 to $1,700 per adult, or $2,800 to $3,400 for two. Peak walk-up in 2025-26 reached $321 at Breckenridge, $351 at Park City and $356 at Vail, the highest ever recorded at a US resort. An Epic Pass at $1,119 for an adult aged 31 and over (2026-27, Vail's own published price) undercuts six day tickets.
6-day lift pass, 2 kids aged 8 and 10€359 in the Zillertal: €179.50 per child on the 6-day Superskipass, child rate applying to birth years 2012 to 2020 (2026/27). Montgenèvre €172.50 each, but again only off-season and only on the Montgenèvre domain alone, meaning before 18 December 2026 or after 10 to 12 April 2027, which rules out every school holiday week; in the peak window it is €242.50 each for Montgenèvre plus Monts de la Lune, ages 6 to 14 (winter 2026-2027). Turracher Höhe €168 to €182 each (2025/26). Pralognan-la-Vanoise €178 each (2025-2026). Photo ID is required for every discounted category in the Zillertal, without exception.We could not verify 2026-27 US child lift-ticket or child season-pass prices in this research pass, so there is no number here. The one child-adjacent discount we did confirm is Epic's new 20% off for ages 13 to 30, taking the full pass to $889 and Epic Local to $659 (2026-27), which does nothing at all for a family with kids under 13.
The under-6sUsually free. Zillertal: children born after 01.01.2021 ride free with a paying supervising adult (2026/27). Zell am See-Kaprun: free if born 2021 or later (2026/27). Montgenèvre: free under 6 (winter 2026-2027). Laax: free under 6 anywhere on the mountain (winter 25/26). Zermatt: free under 9 on the Wolli Card (2026 cycle). Turracher Höhe: free under 6 with a parent, €3.50 a day unaccompanied (2025/26). Peyragudes sells a €5-a-day baby pass for ages 0 to 4 on the beginner sector, though the page carrying that price does not state a season.Not verified. We found no published 2026-27 under-6 lift policy for our US anchor resorts in this pass, so we are not claiming one in either direction.
Kids' ski school, 6 days, per child€345 for a six-day children's group course at Ischgl, ski school from age 3 (2026/27; €99 for a single day). La Rosière €222 for six days (winter 2025-2026). Montgenèvre ESF €200 for six half-days up to €355 for six full days, maximum 10 children per group, on the ESF's current published rates, which carry no season label on the page. Peyragudes from €175 for a 4 to 5 lesson package, €185 in school-holiday weeks, groups of 6 maximum (2025-2026), but read that one carefully: it is the Mini Piou Piou class for 3-year-olds, not a like-for-like course for an 8-year-old. Laax CHF 521 for a five-day full-day group course, lift ticket not included (winter 25/26).$405 per child per day for Deer Valley's Adventure Club full-day group lesson, ages 7 to 12, rising to $450 in high season and $470 in holiday weeks, lift ticket and rentals not included (2026-27, published by Deer Valley). Six days for one child is $2,430 to $2,820. This is the best-sourced US ski-school figure we have. Vail had not opened 2026-27 lesson registration when we researched, and the only Vail figure we could find was from the 2016-17 season, so we are not quoting one.
Lodging, per night, self-catered or mid-range€58 to €100 across our anchors. Loudenvielle near Peyragudes: self-catered apartments from about €58 to €68 a night (rates captured July 2026). Zillertal Arena: €90 a night budget in our cost record (captured May 2026). Mayrhofen: €70 budget, €100 mid-range, €220 luxury (captured April 2026). Important caveat: none of those European bands carry a season label, only the date we captured them, so they are not stated peak rates the way the US figures opposite are. The one European lodging anchor we have that is explicitly peak is La Rosière, where a studio for four was listed at €190 to €600 a week on a February 2026 peak sample window (7 February to 8 March 2026), roughly €27 to €86 a night, which keeps the order of magnitude intact. Ischgl apartments for 2 to 6 people listed at €573 to €633 per week (2026/27). Ski-in ski-out costs more: the Mercure at Peyragudes runs roughly €160 to €320 a night by season.Our weakest US data. No Breckenridge or Vail Village nightly rate could be verified at all. The nearest sourced anchor is Park City: about $350 a night for a studio in the February peak, about $650 for a two-bedroom villa, $300 to $500 for a one-bedroom over Presidents' Week (independent travel blog, dated July 2026). Treat every US lodging figure in this guide as an estimate.
Lunch on the mountainNot in our verified data set. We publish prices we have actually checked, and on-mountain meal prices at our anchor resorts are not among them yet. We are not going to invent one to make the table look tidier.About $20 for a burger, fries and a drink at Vail, or $22 for the burger on its own at Bistro Fourteen (Vail Daily, the local paper of record, 2025-26). Epic pass holders get 20% off quick-service orders up to $150 a day. Walk-up families pay full price. No Park City meal figure could be sourced.
FlightsThe whole handicap. Aggregator floor fares for New York to Zurich showed $473 round trip for December 2026 and $701 for February 2027, but those are teaser fares for single restricted seats, not four seats on the dates schools are actually out. United's own booking engine showed December 2026 New York to Geneva starting at $1,579. Our working estimate for real peak-week fares is $900 to $1,800 or more per person round trip, and that estimate is ours, not a quote.We did not price domestic US airfare in this research pass. If you are flying to Denver or Salt Lake City rather than driving, subtract that cost from Europe's disadvantage before you decide.
How solid is this column?Mostly tier-one sources: lift companies, ski schools and resort offices publishing their own tariffs, each labeled with its season. Most figures are 2026/27 or 2025/26. Lodging figures marked as captured on a date come from booking-site snapshots and move around.Mixed. Ikon and Deer Valley figures come straight from the companies. Epic pricing rests on trade-press coverage of Vail's release rather than a directly loaded page. Vail, Breckenridge and Park City day tickets are 2025-26 data. Lodging, Park City meals and current Vail lesson prices are gaps or estimates.

Where the USA actually wins, and it is not nothing

If you only read the table, you would book Austria tomorrow. Do not. There are real reasons families keep choosing Colorado and Utah, and pretending otherwise would make this guide useless.

The travel day is shorter, and shorter matters with small kids

The transfer at the European end is fine. Zurich to Laax is 1.5 to 2 hours by car. Salzburg to Zell am See-Kaprun is about 80 km and roughly 1.5 hours, with a direct airport bus. Innsbruck to Ischgl is 100 km. Geneva, Lyon and Chambéry all sit within a few hours of the French Alps.

The problem is the ocean in front of the transfer. A domestic flight to Denver plus a shuttle gets you skiing the same day. A transatlantic redeye plus a transfer gets you to a strange apartment at lunchtime with two overtired children. And going east is the hard direction: your kids lose hours, not gain them. Budget the first day as a write-off, and if your week is only five or six days long, that is a real chunk of it gone.

Ski school is in your child's first language by default

In the US, this is a non-issue. In Europe it is a question you have to ask. Most large Alpine ski schools run English-language groups, but availability varies by resort, by week and by age band, and the smaller family resorts we like most are exactly the ones where it is worth confirming rather than assuming. Ask before you book, not after.

No passports, no roaming, no exchange rate, and an easy bail-out

If the week goes sideways in Colorado, you can change plans without an international ticket. Nobody needs a passport renewed six months in advance. Your phone works. Your card works. Your kid's inhaler prescription works. These are not glamorous advantages and they matter enormously when something goes wrong at 3am.

The season pass rewrites the math for repeat skiers

This is the strongest US argument and it is not close. An Epic Pass at $1,119 for 2026-27 covers the whole season. Epic Local sits at $829 with peak-day and top-resort restrictions. The Ikon Pass is $1,449 for an adult aged 23 and over, with Ikon Base at $1,019. If you ski three US weeks a year, nothing in Europe competes, because you are amortizing one fixed cost across all of them and Europe charges you three sets of airfares.

And if you ski a lot less than that, Ikon sells a 4-Day Session Pass at $529 for an adult, $419 for ages 13 to 22 and $309 for a child aged 5 to 12 (2026-27). A cheap US long weekend exists. A cheap transatlantic long weekend does not.

Where Europe wins, line by line

The lift pass buys more mountain for less money

The single 6-day Zillertaler Superskipass at €399 an adult covers 546 km of piste and 180 lifts across four separate ski areas, plus the free valley ski bus and most local public transport (2026/27). Breckenridge's sampled online adult rate was $234 on a weekday (2025-26). One European adult day inside that pass works out at €66.50. That is the whole argument in one line.

And the pass usually spans borders or valleys. La Rosière links to La Thuile in Italy across the Espace San Bernardo. Montgenèvre sits inside the 400 km Via Lattea. Peyragudes joins Aure Louron for 250 km across four stations, and belongs to the N'PY network of Pyrenees resorts.

Kids ride free, and the cutoffs are generous

Free under 6 at Laax and Montgenèvre. Free under 5 at Pralognan-la-Vanoise. Free for anyone born after 1 January 2021 across the Zillertal and at Zell am See-Kaprun, with a paying adult. Free under 9 at Zermatt on the Wolli Card, then half the adult price up to 16. Zell am See-Kaprun goes further: as published for the 2025/26 season-pass window, buying Ski ALPIN CARD season passes for your two oldest children makes the remaining children's passes free, with proof of child benefit and photos.

Ski school costs a fraction, not a discount

Deer Valley publishes $405 per child per day for a full-day group lesson in regular season, $470 in holiday weeks, lift ticket and rentals excluded (2026-27). Ischgl charges €345 for six days (2026/27). That is roughly €57.50 a day against $405 a day. La Rosière's six-day group course is €222. Montgenèvre's ESF runs €200 for six half-days with a maximum of 10 children per group, on current published rates that the ESF page does not attach a season to.

Real talk: this is where the trip is won or lost. If both your kids are in ski school all week, the lesson line is often larger than the lift line, and it is the line where the two continents differ most violently.

Childcare starts younger and costs less

Zermatt takes babies from 3 months. Montgenèvre from 6 months. Pralognan-la-Vanoise runs €20 for a morning, €26 for an afternoon, €11 for midday with lunch, and 10% off after five cumulative sessions, though the page displaying those prices also lists 2026 summer dates so treat the winter rate as unconfirmed. Zell am See-Kaprun's kindergarten is €80.75 on the early-booking rate, €85 regular (2026/27). Laax runs a crèche for ages 1 to 4. Turracher Höhe takes children from age 2 in both ski school and childcare.

Self-catering is normal, and cheap

Our cheapest verified European lodging is not a hotel room. It is a self-catered apartment: from about €58 to €68 a night in Loudenvielle below Peyragudes (captured July 2026), €90 a night in the Zillertal Arena, €70 in Mayrhofen. Those are capture dates rather than season labels, so read them as a band, not as a peak-week quote. A kitchen also quietly removes the on-mountain lunch problem, which is the line item nobody budgets for and everybody pays.

The flight math: the number that decides it

Everything above is arithmetic. This part is a judgment call, and it is the weakest number in this guide. We are telling you that up front because you are about to make a four-thousand-dollar decision on it.

Here is exactly what we found and what it is worth:

  • Aggregator floor fares. New York to Zurich showed "from $473" for December 2026 and "from $701" for February 2027. These are teaser fares: the single cheapest seat found anywhere in a wide date window, usually on restrictive routing. They are not what four people pay on the days schools are out.
  • A carrier's own engine. United showed New York to Geneva fares starting at $1,579 for December 2026. That gap, roughly three times the aggregator teaser, is the whole lesson.
  • Our estimate. For real peak-week travel from the East Coast to Geneva, Zurich or Munich, we would budget $900 to $1,800 or more per person round trip. This is our inference from the United data point plus how badly "from" fares understate holiday pricing. It is not a quote, and it is the single least-verified figure on this page.

So does the saving beat the fares?

Using the worked examples below: the Austrian week lands around $3,155 for a family of four before flights and rentals. The Colorado week lands somewhere between roughly $8,700 and $13,300 before flights, rentals and any child lift tickets. Call the on-the-ground gap about $5,500 at the friendly-to-Colorado end and about $10,100 at the other.

Four transatlantic tickets at $900 to $1,800 each costs $3,600 to $7,200.

Run the worst case for Europe, meaning US costs at the bottom of our range and fares at the top of ours, and the USA comes out roughly $1,600 ahead. Run almost any other combination and Europe wins, sometimes by five figures. That is the honest verdict: Europe wins most of the band, and loses in one corner of it.

Which is why the first thing you should do is not read another cost guide. It is pull a live, dated fare quote for your actual travel dates. That one number moves more than everything else on this page combined.

Worked example: one Austrian week in the Zillertal

Two adults, two children aged 8 and 10, seven nights, six ski days, based at Kaltenbach-Hochzillertal or Zillertal Arena, season 2026/27.

Lift passes: €1,157

The 6-day Zillertaler Superskipass for 2026/27 (valid 4 Dec 2026 to 11 Apr 2027) is €399 adult and €179.50 child for birth years 2012 to 2020. Two adults and two children comes to €1,157. That one pass covers all four Zillertal ski areas, 546 km of piste, 180 lifts, the valley ski bus and most public transport. Photo ID is required for the discounted categories.

If you have a younger third child born after 1 January 2021, their pass is €0 as long as a paying adult is supervising.

Kids' ski school: about €690

Zillertal-specific 2026/27 children's course prices are not in our verified data set, so we are using the nearest Austrian anchor we do have: Ischgl at €345 per child for a six-day group course (2026/27). Two children at that benchmark is €690. Label this one as a benchmark, not a Zillertal quote.

What we can confirm locally: Kaltenbach-Hochzillertal runs children's courses from age 4, the Kidspark at Hochfügen has a magic carpet, a wave track, a play tent, a children's restaurant and all-day childcare, and BOBOs Kinderclub at Hochzillertal has a practice meadow just under two hectares. Mayrhofen's KinderLand Horberg takes ski kindergarten children from age 2.

Lodging: €630

Our cost record logs budget lodging in the Zillertal Arena at €90 a night (captured May 2026). Seven nights is €630. Mayrhofen logs €70 budget, €100 mid-range and €220 luxury per night (captured April 2026), so a mid-range week there would be €700. Both of those are capture dates rather than season labels, so unlike the explicitly peak-week US lodging figures below, they are not stated holiday rates.

Running total: €2,477

That is about $2,675 at the 1.08 EUR to USD rate our cost data uses. Rentals and food are not in it. To keep the comparison deliberately unfair to Europe, we then add the same $80 a day for family lunches that we used on the US side, even though we have no verified European meal prices, which brings the Austrian week to roughly $3,155 before flights.

Worked example: one Colorado week

Same family, same seven nights, same six ski days, based at Breckenridge or Vail. Note the season labels carefully: several of these are 2025-26 figures because the 2026-27 tables were not published when we researched this.

Lift passes: $2,800 to $3,400 for two adults, children unpriced

Breckenridge's sampled online adult rate was $234 weekday and $281 weekend for a 22 December sample date (2025-26, OnTheSnow). Six days per adult is $1,404 to $1,686, so $2,808 to $3,372 for two. Peak walk-up in 2025-26 hit $321 at Breckenridge and $356 at Vail, described as the highest ever at a US resort, and 2026-27 should be expected at or above those.

Two things pull this down. Vail Resorts advertised 30% or more off tickets bought four or more weeks ahead in 2025-26, with up to $175 of ticket spend creditable toward the next season's Epic Pass, though that program is not confirmed to repeat for 2026-27. And two Epic Passes at $1,119 each beat six days of day tickets outright.

We could not verify 2026-27 US child ticket or child pass prices, so children's lift access is simply missing from this total.

Ski school: $3,000 to $5,640 for two children

Deer Valley publishes $405 per child per day for its Adventure Club full-day group lesson, ages 7 to 12, rising to $450 in high season and $470 in holiday weeks, lift ticket and rentals excluded (2026-27). Six days for two children is $4,860 to $5,640.

Deer Valley is a premium outlier, so if you assume Vail or Breckenridge lands cheaper, a defensible estimate is $250 to $350 per child per day, which gives $3,000 to $4,200 for the week. That range is our inference, not a published rate: Vail's own lesson registration was not open when we researched, and the only Vail figure we could find dated from 2016-17.

Private lessons are another world. Full-day privates in Utah cluster around $840 at Solitude and $949 at Snowbasin for groups of up to five (Ski Utah, season not stated on the page, gathered 2026). Park City private figures we found disagreed by a factor of three to four between sources, so we are not quoting one.

Lodging: $2,450 to $4,550

This is the softest number in the US column. No Breckenridge or Vail Village nightly rate could be verified. The nearest sourced anchor is Park City at about $350 a night for a studio in the February peak, about $650 for a two-bedroom villa, and $300 to $500 for a one-bedroom over Presidents' Week (independent travel blog, July 2026). Seven nights across that range is $2,450 to $4,550. Named Breckenridge ski-in ski-out properties market up to 30% off advance bookings, but we could not retrieve a rate.

Food: about $480

A burger, fries and a drink on the mountain at Vail runs about $20, and $22 for the burger alone at Bistro Fourteen (Vail Daily). Four of those is roughly $80 a day, so about $480 across six days. Epic pass holders get 20% off quick service up to $150 a day.

Running total: roughly $8,700 to $13,300

The low end assumes our estimated $250 per child per day for lessons and a $350-a-night studio. The high end uses Deer Valley's published regular-season lesson rate and a $650-a-night two-bedroom. If your week falls in a holiday period, Deer Valley's $470 rate pushes the total past $14,000 on its own.

All of that is before flights, before rentals, and before any child lift tickets, which we could not price. The wide spread is not sloppiness. It is the honest width of the US data we could verify.

The middle path: passes that cross the Atlantic

Both Epic and Ikon market European access as a pass benefit, and for a family already committed to buying one, that is worth investigating. We are not going to list the 2026-27 European partner resorts here, because we did not verify those lists against the operators' own pages this pass, and partner rosters and day limits change season to season. Check the pass site before you buy on that basis, and check the day limits, not just the logos.

What we did verify for 2026-27:

  • Ikon went on sale 12 March 2026. Full adult is $1,449 for ages 23 and over and Ikon Base is $1,019. The 4-Day Session Pass is $529 adult, $419 for ages 13 to 22 and $309 for a child aged 5 to 12.
  • Epic is $1,119 adult and $829 for Epic Local, both 20% off for ages 13 to 30 (the spring early-bird was $1,089 and $809), which is no help with younger children. Epic Local restricts peak days and top-tier resorts. The spring early-bird prices have since risen; the figures above are the current published ones, read in August 2026.
  • Deer Valley runs its own system entirely, outside both Epic and Ikon, with an Unlimited adult season pass starting at $4,100 for 2026-27.

Honestly though, the real middle path for most families is not a transatlantic pass at all. It is two simple habits. In the US, buy your lift tickets four or more weeks ahead, because that discount is large and confirmed. In Europe, buy the multi-area regional pass rather than the single-resort ticket, because the price difference is small and the terrain difference is enormous: the Zillertaler Superskipass, the Espace San Bernardo, the Via Lattea, Aure Louron, N'PY.

One warning. A season pass bought in March is a sunk cost that quietly pulls you back to the same continent all year. If you buy an Epic or an Ikon in spring, you have already made this decision, whatever the numbers say in October.

Eight of the European resorts behind these numbers

1

Zillertal Arena, Austria

The 6-day Superskipass at €399 adult and €179.50 child (2026/27) is the best value in our whole data set. Children born after 1 January 2021 ride free with a paying adult. Rosenalm Kinderland has conveyor-belt lifts and character figures, and the flat Funty beginner trail runs down to Wiesenalm with sound and high-five elements.
2

Kaltenbach-Hochzillertal, Austria

Same Superskipass, day ticket €83 without a guest card or €82 with (2026/27), and lifts open from 7:30am. Children's courses start at age 4. Kidspark Hochfügen has a magic carpet, a wave track, a play tent, a children's restaurant and all-day childcare.
3

Mayrhofen, Austria

KinderLand Horberg takes ski kindergarten children from age 2, with a 69 m magic carpet and a 180 m T-bar. Our cost record logs lodging at €70 budget, €100 mid-range and €220 luxury per night (captured April 2026), which makes it the cheapest verified mid-range base in the valley.
4

Turracher Höhe, Austria

A 6-day adult pass runs €336 to €363 by season band and a child pass €168 to €182 (2025/26). Ski school and childcare both start at age 2. Under 6s ski free with a parent, or €3.50 a day unaccompanied. 43 km of piste with 100% snowmaking (2025/26), a lake you can skate on, and a 1.6 km alpine coaster that runs in winter.
5

Montgenèvre, France

Off-season 6-day passes at €217 adult and €172.50 child cover the Montgenèvre domain only and apply before 18 December 2026 or after 10 to 12 April 2027, so they are not a school-holiday price. In the peak window you pay €301 and €242.50 for the wider Montgenèvre plus Monts de la Lune area (winter 2026-2027). Kids under 6 are free, childcare starts at 6 months, and ESF group courses run €200 for six half-days to €355 for six full days with a maximum of 10 children, on current published rates with no season stated. Famille Plus labeled, and the pass reaches into the 400 km Via Lattea.
6

La Rosière, France

A 6-day adult pass is €295 and a six-day children's group course is €222 (winter 2025-2026). 45% of the terrain is rated kid-friendly, the site is a south-facing balcony, and the lift pass crosses into La Thuile in Italy across the Espace San Bernardo. Famille Plus labeled for over ten years.
7

Pralognan-la-Vanoise, France

Adult day tickets are €41 and child €34, or €217 and €178 for six days (2025-2026). Under 5s ski free. Childcare takes babies from 6 months, listed at €20 a morning and €26 an afternoon with 10% off after five sessions, though the page carrying those prices also shows 2026 summer dates, so treat the winter rate as unconfirmed. A village of 750 people, 70% of it inside France's first national park, with half the terrain rated kid-friendly.
8

Laax, Switzerland

CHF 60 adult and CHF 30 child per day (winter 25/26). Under 6s need no lift ticket anywhere on the mountain, and the Ami Sabi Schneewunderland beginner area needs no ticket at any age. The crèche takes children from age 1, ski school from age 4, and Zurich airport is 1.5 to 2 hours away by car.

Before you book either continent

  • Pull a live, dated fare quote for your exact travel dates before you compare anything else. Our $900 to $1,800 per person figure is an estimate, and it is the number most likely to be wrong for you.
  • Count your ski days and run the division on the sourced numbers rather than a rule of thumb. An Epic Pass at $1,119 (2026-27) against Breckenridge's sampled online day rate of $234 to $281 (2025-26) pays for itself somewhere around the fourth or fifth adult day. Apply the confirmed 30% or more advance-purchase discount to those same day tickets and the pass needs closer to six or seven days. That is our arithmetic on the figures above, not a published break-even.
  • Price the kids' ski school before the lift passes. It is the line where the two continents differ most, and often the biggest number in the whole trip.
  • Check the kids-ski-free cutoff by birth date, not by age. Austrian passes use birth years, and the gap between 31 December 2020 and 1 January 2021 is an entire free pass.
  • Ask whether the ski school runs English-language groups in your specific week, and book those groups early. Holiday weeks fill first.
  • Compare self-catered apartments against hotels in Europe. Our cheapest verified European lodging is an apartment, and a kitchen also deletes the on-mountain lunch bill.
  • In Europe, buy the multi-area regional pass rather than the single-resort ticket. Small price difference, enormous terrain difference.
  • If you go domestic in the US, buy lift tickets four or more weeks ahead. Vail Resorts advertised 30% or more off for advance buyers in 2025-26.
  • Re-check every price on the resort's own site before you pay. Everything on this page is season-labeled for a reason, and ski pricing moves every year.

Questions parents actually ask

Is a week in the Alps really cheaper than a week in Colorado for a family of four?
On the ground, yes, and not marginally. Our worked Austrian week comes to about $3,155 before flights, against roughly $8,700 to $13,300 for a comparable Colorado week before flights and before any child lift tickets. Once you add four transatlantic fares at our estimated $900 to $1,800 each, Europe still wins in most of that range. It loses only in the corner where US costs land at the bottom of our range and fares land at the top, where the USA comes out about $1,600 ahead.
What is the single biggest cost difference?
Kids' ski school. Deer Valley publishes $405 per child per day for a full-day group lesson in regular season and $470 in holiday weeks, lift ticket and rentals excluded (2026-27). Ischgl charges €345 for a full six-day course (2026/27), and La Rosière €222 (winter 2025-2026). If both your children are in lessons all week, that one line can swing several thousand dollars.
How much are the flights, honestly?
Honestly, we do not know your fare and neither does any cost guide. What we found: aggregator floor fares of $473 round trip for New York to Zurich in December 2026 and $701 for February 2027, which are teaser prices for single restricted seats. United's own booking engine showed New York to Geneva starting at $1,579 for December 2026. Our working estimate for real peak-week travel is $900 to $1,800 or more per person round trip, and we are labeling that clearly as our estimate rather than a quote. Pull a live dated quote before you decide anything.
Do kids really ski free in Europe?
At most of our anchor resorts, yes, with age cutoffs that are usually more generous than you expect. Under 6 free at Laax and Montgenèvre. Under 5 free at Pralognan-la-Vanoise. Born after 1 January 2021 free across the Zillertal and at Zell am See-Kaprun, with a paying adult supervising. Under 9 free at Zermatt on the Wolli Card, then half price up to 16. Turracher Höhe is free under 6 with a parent, or €3.50 a day unaccompanied. Check by birth date, because Austrian passes are written that way.
When does a US season pass make Europe pointless?
When you ski more than one week a year domestically. An Epic Pass at $1,119 or an Ikon Pass at $1,449 for 2026-27 is a fixed cost you amortize across every trip, while Europe charges you a new set of airfares every time. Three US weeks on one pass beats three European weeks on price, comfortably. One US week a year is where Europe starts winning.
What is the cheapest verified European week in your data?
Pralognan-la-Vanoise, if you need a week you can actually ski in a school holiday: €217 adult and €178 child for six days (2025-2026), under 5s free, childcare from 6 months. Montgenèvre looks cheaper on paper at €217 adult and €172.50 child, but that is the off-season rate for the Montgenèvre domain alone, valid only before 18 December 2026 or after 10 to 12 April 2027, so no school holiday week qualifies. Inside Montgenèvre's peak window you pay €301 and €242.50 for the wider Montgenèvre plus Monts de la Lune area (winter 2026-2027), and its ESF group courses start at €200 for six half-days on current published rates with no season stated. Both resorts are small, both are Famille Plus, and neither is a household name in the US.
Are these prices for the 2026-27 season?
Some are and some are not, and we label each one. The Zillertal Superskipass, Ischgl, Montgenèvre, Zell am See-Kaprun, Ikon and Deer Valley figures are 2026/27. Turracher Höhe, La Rosière, Pralognan, Laax and Zermatt figures are 2025/26 or winter 2025-2026. The US day-ticket figures for Vail, Breckenridge and Park City are 2025-26 because Vail Resorts had not published its 2026-27 tables when we researched this on 1 August 2026, so treat them as a floor rather than a current price.
What is the weakest number in this guide?
The transatlantic flight estimate, without question. It is our own synthesis rather than a sourced fare, and it is also the number with the most leverage over the final answer. After that: US lodging, where we could not verify a single Breckenridge or Vail Village nightly rate and had to use a Park City travel blog as the nearest anchor. And US child lift-ticket prices for 2026-27, which we could not verify at all, meaning the Colorado total is understated.
Skiurlaub in Planung?

Holt euch unsere kostenlose Checkliste für den Familien-Skiurlaub und eine nützliche E-Mail pro Monat.

Bereit für die Reiseplanung?

Nutzt unsere Tools, um das perfekte Familien-Skigebiet zu finden.

Transparenzhinweis: Dieser Inhalt wurde mit KI-Unterstützung erstellt und von Tom Meredith, unserem Redakteur, überprüft. Preise, Daten und Verfügbarkeiten können sich ändern. Wir empfehlen, Angaben vor der Buchung direkt beim Skigebiet zu bestätigen.